Port Noarlunga Primary School


Learning Areas and the Australian Curriculum

All students are assessed in accordance with the learning areas of the Australian Curriculum at their year level.

The English curriculum is built around the three interrelated strands of language, literature and literacy. Together, the three strands focus on developing students’ knowledge, understanding and skills in listening, reading, viewing, speaking, writing and creating.

The Mathematics curriculum is organised around the interaction of three content strands and four proficiency strands. The content strands are number and algebrameasurement and geometry, and statistics and probability. They describe what is to be taught and learnt.  The proficiency strands are understandingfluencyproblem-solving and reasoning.

The Science curriculum has three interrelated strands: science understanding, science as a human endeavour and science inquiry skills.  The science understanding comprises four sub-strands, being biological, chemical, physical and Earth and Space sciences

Teacher (R-6): Eilis Quinn, covering History and Geography.

The Humanities and Social Sciences curriculum learning area includes a study of History, Geography, Civics and Citizenship and Economics and Business. Each of the learning areas are organised into two broad strands, being knowledge and understanding and inquiry and skills.

Digital Technologies (R-2) Teacher: Allana Wait

The Technologies curriculum describes two distinct but related subjects: Design and Technologies and Digital Technologies. Each subject has two strands, being knowledge and understanding and processes and production skills.

Physical Education Teacher (R-6): Mike Woolford

Health (3-6) Teacher: Mike Woolford

Health (R-2) Teacher: Allana Wait

The Health and Physical Education curriculum is organised into two content strands: personal, social and community health and movement and physical activity.

Teacher (3-6): Danni Baumann

The Arts curriculum is a learning area that draws together related but distinct art forms.  The Australian Curriculum: The Arts comprises five subjects: Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music and Visual Arts.  Each area focuses on its own practices, terminology and unique ways of looking at the world.

Effort Rubric

(Click to enlarge)

Standard of Educational Achievement

The Standard of Educational Achievement is measured using the Australian Curriculum which describes the progress and achievement at a student’s year appropriate level.

GRADEStandard of Achievement
AExcellent achievement beyond what is expected at this year level
BGood achievement of what is expected at this year level
CSatisfactory achievement of what is expected at this year level
DPartial achievement of what is expected at this year level
EMinimal achievement of what is expected at this year level
You can ask the school to provide you with written information that clearly shows your child’s achievement in the subject studied in comparison to that of other children in the child’s peer group at school. This information will show you the number of students in each of the achievement levels A – E.